5 Best Ways to Naturally Treat Puffy Eyes

No matter how many times I tell myself to sleep early and get proper rest, I somehow end up watching Netflix reruns until 4am in the morning just for the fun of it. And then I wake up with puffy eyes and I blame my bad sleeping habits. But guess what? Puffy eyes are not caused by lack of sleep!

Causes of Puffiness

Eye puffiness is usually caused by under eye water retention – either too much water or a buildup of lymphatic fluid. And if you’re like me and make it a habit to rub your dry eyeballs (courtesy of way too many late night Netflix marathons in my situation): stop it now! Puffy eyes can also be caused by irritation, which can be caused by rubbing, allergies (oh hello Spring!) and contact lenses.

What Shouldn’t be in your Eye Creams?

Parabens (Ethyl, Butyl, Methyl, Propyl, and Parahydroxybenzoate) – these preserve the product and is the second most popular ingredient in skin care products, followed by water. Yes, preservatives are essential, but there are natural, non-toxic preservatives that are being phased in in the natural skin care industry.

Found in: baby preparations, cleansers, deodorants, eye-products, lotions and moisturizers, make-up, personal lubricants, nail products, shampoos and other hair products, and sunscreens.

Kitchen Remedies for Your Puffy Eyes

1. Cool Cucumber

Skincare 1 - 1

Cucumbers have been used for years as a home remedy for puffy eyes – that is what Hollywood movies have told me and that is what I firmly believe. But seriously, cucumbers have antioxidants and flavonoids that help with redness, swelling and irritation.

Grab a cucumber, blend it, and pour the juice into a bowl. Soak some cotton pads into it and gently squeeze out the excess liquid. Put these into ziplock bags (don’t overlap them, otherwise they’ll freeze together). To use, thaw the cucumber pads for around 10 minutes before applying to the eyes for 10-15mins. Or chop up a thin piece of cucumber and throw it on your eyes – whatever works.

2. Raw Potato Slices

Skincare 1 - 2

Yes raw, don’t go putting potato chips on your eyes (FYI: this will not work). Potatoes have an astringent that helps remove water from your under eyes.

Grab a potato. Blend, soak, squeeze, freeze as you would the cucumbers. Thaw and reap the benefits.

3. Chilled Milk

Skincare 1 - 3

Use whole milk for the lactic acid that shrinks the under eye tissue and is also said to brighten the eye area.

Pour some chilled milk into a bowl, dunk in some cotton pads, squeeze and freeze. Thaw and use. (Or even use it without freezing, the lactic acid will still do its job!)

4. Green Tea Bag

Skincare 1 - 4

Green tea has caffeine in it, which constricts the tiny blood vessels in the skin around your eyes. Caffeinated tea also has tannins, which stimulates blood circulation. Green Tea Bags will tighten and soothe your tired Netflix-ridden eyes.

Place two tea bags in a cup of hot water. Remove and let them cool to room temperature. Place on your eyes for 15-30mins.

5. Egg Whites

Skincare 1 - 5

Egg whites tighten and tone the skin, while stimulating circulation and reducing inflammation.

Separate the egg white from the yolk. Beat it up until frothy. Apply onto your eyes with a brush, or be primal like me and just use your fingers. Let sit for 10-15mins, then gently rinse.

Skincare 1 - flatlay

What’s your favourite kitchen remedy for puffy eyes? Tell us below! 

2 thoughts on “5 Best Ways to Naturally Treat Puffy Eyes

  1. (I think) I’ve commented before how much I LOVE green tea cotton pads for puffy eyes, it’s been my go-to for probably years. But now I am so excited to try every single one of these. I still have about 20 of the green tea in my freezer, and I’ll definitely use them up, but now I’m going to have to make room in there for the cucumber. Gonna start with cucumber and egg whites because I know I have those in the fridge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

